Baby Steps to Homemade Baby Food: The Beginning

The Bean is starting to eat food now and so I thought I’d share with you how I make my baby food. I honestly started out doing it not because it’s healthier and no chemicals or science-y words in the ingredients, but because, well, I’m cheap. It’s crazy cheap to make your own and really easy. Depending on how much you’re cooking, it probably won’t take you more than a half hour (about the same amount of time it takes to try to get a baby food jar open).

My first Christmas as a mom, I asked for a Baby Bullet. When Punk was going to be old enough to start foods, I was going to be ready! Turns out, you really don’t need a special baby food maker. Any blender will do. Who knew, right? Weeeellllll, it took me a little while to get the hang of the idea of preparing food, let alone my poor mama heart accepting that my sweet little baby was old enough to eat food. The Baby Bullet comes with a user manual/cookbook that was pretty useful, but I think the ultimate resource in baby food making is momtastic’s wholesome baby food.

With both Punk and The Bean, I started with store bought baby rice mixed with breast milk or formula. punk's first foodThen after they got used to that, I quickly moved to fruits and veggies. Rice gave both of them crazy gas and would sometimes back them up.

A general rule of introducing foods to baby, is that you give it early in the day (so that if they have a reaction you can see it) and that you give them the food 3 or 4 days before starting another new food. I like to alternate vegetables and fruit, but you’re the mom, you do what you want.

So here’s what you’ll need to begin:

  • fruit or vegetable
  • blender
  • ice cube trays
  • plastic storage bags

Ok, so get your crap together, head to the grocery store and pick up some avocados. We’ll start with those first next week!

 

Leave a Reply

