Love Affair: A Confession

It always starts out so innocently.

It’s just a glance. But then you find your mind wandering, creating a whole scene in your head. Even just the scent throws your entire body into imagining what it would be like to be together. You tell yourself, maybe just this once. You’re not hurting anybody. The thought of letting yourself go completely is secretly exciting.

love-affair-confession

Your hands feel the tingle of warmth in every finger. The whispers of “I love you” echo deceivingly around the room. You haven’t done this in a while. But, before you know it you’re completely consumed.

And then, when it’s all over, you feel the immediate pains of regret from the depths of your body. But it’s done, you can’t undo it.

Your eyes meet the eyes of another person and you know they know what you’ve done. Despite all the guilt you’ll carry around with you for days, deep down, you know it’ll happen again. You tell yourself to have some self-control. You know what you vowed and how could you break those vows again?

But really, who could resist? Everything about it is intoxicating.

How could you? You’re thinking. I know, I know. I’ve promised myself, I’ve told my husband that I want to be better. I’ve got a problem. I’m addicted.

I don’t know what it is. Why I can’t shake it. Maybe it’s the warmth. The way it fills the emptiness.

It’s saucy. It’s cheesy. Sometimes sweet. Sometimes spicy. A little crunch with every bite.

 

Mellow Mushroom GF 2

 

Yes, you pizza. Why do you have such power over me? Sssshhh…I love you. Let’s meet next week? Okay, tonight works for me, too.

Do you have a (food) confession to make?

Leave a Reply

